If you have an Illinois driver’s license‚ you need to check to see if it is still valid. It will be suspended if you have any unpaid tickets on it‚ but the new law says that your license will be released if you have no unpaid tickets. To check if your license is still valid‚ text the ID number to 22846. Once you have sent the text message‚ you will receive a confirmation.
Requirements for obtaining a IL driver’s license
If you haven’t started driving yet‚ the state of Illinois requires that you complete a mandatory driver’s education course before you can apply for your license. You’ll also need to be at least 18 years old and have not received any traffic violations in the previous six months. You’re also not allowed to drive while texting or talking on a handheld device. Finally‚ you must pass a vision test.
Other documents required for the application process include proof of your name‚ Social Security number‚ and date of birth. You’ll also need to provide proof of residency. This can be in the form of a utility bill‚ pay stub‚ or bank statement. If you’re a new adult‚ you can also submit a copy of your high school diploma or transcript.
If you’ve completed driver’s education‚ you’ll need to provide proof of this‚ such as a copy of your driving record. In addition‚ you’ll need to pay the required fees and pass the driving exam. If you’re a member of a cooperative driver testing program‚ you’ll need to meet additional requirements. A roadworthy vehicle is also required and sharpening your knowledge of the road is essential. Afterward‚ you’ll be issued a temporary paper license until your Illinois driver’s license arrives.
You must take the written exam every eight years. Those without a traffic conviction can take this test at a Secretary of State facility. The test consists of 35 multiple-choice and true-false questions based on the Illinois Rules of the Road manual. Passing this exam will prove that you have a working knowledge of the rules and laws of the road. The test will also ensure that you are familiar with vehicle equipment and traffic signs.
Requirements for renewing a IL driver’s license in person
If you live in Illinois‚ you will need to renew your license every eight years. You can renew it in person or through the online portal‚ which is available on the Secretary of State’s website. You’ll need to bring your current license‚ pass a written test and a behind-the-wheel driving test‚ and pay the appropriate renewal fee. If you’ve recently moved‚ you will also need to update your address and other information on the renewal form.
You will also need to bring a valid identification and proof of insurance. You may not need to pay the renewal fee if you have no accidents or traffic violations‚ but you will have to submit proof of liability insurance. If you’d rather renew your license in person‚ you can contact Jerry at the Secretary of State’s office. He can help you find the best rates for renewal.
In order to renew your license by mail‚ you need to submit an application at least 30 days before your current license expires. However‚ this method will require more planning and is not available to everyone. You’ll receive a renewal notice from the Secretary of State’s office‚ which will include instructions to complete the process.
Illinois drivers must renew their license every four years‚ unless they’re under the age of eighteen. In this case‚ the renewal date should coincide with the driver’s birthday. The renewal date will be on the front of the card. If you’re under the age of 21‚ you can renew it up to one year before it expires. However‚ if you’re older‚ you must renew it annually.