Generally speaking‚ a PFD is considered readily accessible if it is stored in a place where it would be easily accessible. This could include a designated storage space for pfds‚ a designated storage box‚ or a special storage container.
The Coast Guard is proposing to change the labels on some Type III PFDs. The new labels will use the terms “wearable” and “throwable.” Existing PFDs with the current type codes will continue to be used. However‚ these changes are not retroactive and may affect the use of PFDs that are already approved by the USCG.
Type II PFDs are designed for less strenuous excursions and require less flotation than a Type III. They are best used on calm inland waters and are not intended for extended use in rough water. However‚ they do offer some advantages over other PFD types‚ such as more comfort. Inflatable Type II PFDs are easier to maneuver and are more buoyant than foam-based PFDs.
Florida law states that PFDs must be worn by every passenger on a boat. This means that they must be available and easily worn by passengers. They should also be kept in open bins within easy reach of everyone on board. This requirement does not apply to boats under 16 feet‚ but to canoes‚ kayaks‚ and sailboarders.
According to Florida State law‚ a boat must have one or more Type IV Personal Flotation Devices available for all passengers to wear in the event of an emergency. These life jackets are designed to be worn by all occupants on board and must have a USCG-approved label. They are also required to be in serviceable condition.
Type III PFDs are designed to be comfortable and can be thrown to those in need. They aren’t suitable for extended use or for rough water. A Type IV device is not a traditional life jacket‚ but a throwable buoyancy device intended to aid those who have fallen overboard. The device can come in the form of a ring‚ cushion‚ or inflatable raft. Regardless of the style‚ it must be readily available on board during boating or recreational activities.
A final rule by the Coast Guard will affect at least 66 PFD manufacturers and up to 56 State and territorial jurisdictions. Additionally‚ six Federal governmental agencies may need to amend their regulations to incorporate Coast Guard standards.
According to Florida’s life jacket laws‚ all passengers must be wearing a wearable PFD when they are on a boat‚ but boats with a length of 16 feet or more are also required to carry a throwable device. A throwable device is a life jacket that is designed to be thrown from a boat into the water.
The type of PFD that is most appropriate for the watercraft on which you are operating is a major factor in preventing drowning. It is also essential that the life jacket is properly sized for the person on board. There are two types of PFDs‚ Type I and Type II.
A PFD that is approved by the Coast Guard must be worn by both the operator and passenger. The device must be a non-inflatable PFD. An inflatable PFD is not permitted for PWC operation. A PWC must also have an observer aboard and a wide angle mirror mounted on it. The PWC must also be equipped with an engine cut-off switch lanyard.
The State of Florida requires that all persons traveling by boat or watercraft wear a wearable personal floatation device‚ otherwise known as a PFD‚ unless otherwise specified. This includes children under 6 years of age. These devices must be worn at all times and must have a USCG-approved label.